Eric's Biography

Eric SoProfessor and Chair in Leukaemia Biology, Department of Haematological Medicine, King’s College London, The University of London

Research Goal

The primary goal of Eric So's research program is to characterize the mechanisms of transcriptional regulation that are corrupted in leukemia. By identification and molecular dissection of the transcriptional and epigenetic networks deregulated by oncogenic transcription factors, the research work should give important mechanistic insights into the molecular basis of the diseases, and in longer term, provide fruitful avenues for development of specific therapeutic interventions.


Personal Honors and Awards

2012                The Pezcoller Foundation - EACR Cancer Researcher Award: A Researcher of Excellence
                        (EACR - Pezcoller Foundation)
2009-2012       Young Investigator Award, European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
2005-2011       Fellowship Award, The Association for International Cancer  
                        Research (AICR), U.K.
2002-2005       Special Fellowship Award, The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, U.S.A.
2000-2002       Research Fellowship Award, The Croucher Foundation, Hong Kong
2000                Young Investigator’s Award, American Association for Cancer Research (AACR), U.S.A.
1997                Dr. K.P. Stephen Chang Gold Medal Award, The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
1996                Best Paper Award, The Joint University Biology Symposium, Hong Kong
1996                Young Investigator Award, Hong Kong International Cancer Congress (HKICC),
                        Hong Kong Conventional Center, Hong Kong
1995-96           Sino British Research Award, Hong Kong
1995                Best Presentation Award, The Joint University Biology Symposium, Hong Kong
1994-1997       Scholarship, The Croucher Foundation, Hong Kong


Mentorship for External Awards

  • Leukaemia & Lymphoma Research (LLR) UK Gordon Piller PhD Student, Miss. Claire Lynn, 2014-18
  • Botswana Government Scholar, Mr. Henry Lekgetho, 2013-2017
Back to top